What I’m Into (April 2014)

When I was little, we had a little wooden house. One day, my parents decided to put it in a huge walnut tree, thus creating our first tree house. I remember converting it into our own little dream cottage–cleaning it up, getting rid of the huge wasp nests, painting the inside white, and adding curtains.

our childhood treehouse

our childhood treehouse (not our new house!)

The biggest news this month is that we are moving to a house (which is somewhat humorous in light of my post about how this would be my first quiet spring in a while). We are so excited, and as I painted the pantry white the other day, my mind went back to fixing up our treehouse with white paint. The house is why posts have been a little scarce; in addition to a now-crawling (and waking up every one to two hours again!) nine-month-old to keep up with, we are painting and cleaning and generally getting ready to move. We’re hoping to move in the next couple of weeks. I’ll hopefully have some before and after pictures to share!

Needless to say, there have been tons of early morning Home Depot/Lowe’s trips with Liam (did you know they open at 6am!? Also avoid either on Friday afternoons in the spring; the plant shoppers are in it to win it.). Overall, though, April has been lovely. Spring has stopped teasing us and seems to be here to stay. I can’t believe the daffodils have already come and gone. We’re so excited to have a house this year so we can plant and garden.

Books

Top of the list:

*Notes from a Blue Bike (audiobook): I listened to this audiobook while painting. I loved getting to hear Tsh read her book, and the message resonates with me. It’s a great book for making you think.

*Where’d You Go, Bernadette: I read this one because it was available on our library’s ebook list. I didn’t expect to like it, but I loved it. There’s something about mother-daughter search stories that I really like (The Secret Life of Bees comes to mind). It didn’t seem as strong toward the end as it was at the beginning and through the middle, but it was still excellent.

*Bread and Wine: I’m now obsessed with this type of cookbook, and Shauna Niequist is one of my favorite writers because she balances humor and excellence and conversational style so well.

 

IMG_9718

He used to get paid for this in real money; now he gets paid in kisses and deep appreciation.

 

Other Reads:

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close // The Eyre Affair // Jesus Feminist // How She Does It (which gave me so much to think about!) // This is the Story of a Happy Marriage (can’t wait to read more Ann Patchett!)

I also read Young House Love in preparation for our move and because I love their blog; their paint color advice on the blog has helped tremendously.

Right now I’m reading The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict, The Goldfinch, and The Nesting Place.

IMG_9725

 

TV

We’re sort of keeping up with Call the Midwife, occasionally watching an episode on the PBS website. I love the show. I can’t wait to read the second book of her memoir.

We finished Chuck a few weeks ago, which means I now go many days with no TV. It’s given me a lot to think about in terms of how Netflix has changed the way we watch shows (aka binge watching), social TV, and how TV affects me. I plan to post on it soon.

Recipes

* I am picky about brownies (but love a good one!). I made these brownies for my dad’s birthday, adding chocolate chips. With nuts, they would be perfect. I think the frosting is optional but also delicious.

* Of course, Bread and Wine recipes are our favorite right now. I’ve made the Gaia cookies at least four times in an admittedly short period of time. And the turkey burgers changed my view of turkey burgers.

* These chickpea burgers were wonderful! We made honey mustard dressing to go with them (mixing honey, mayonnaise, and mustard–super simple!).

The more frequent posts will come back this week now that I am not so tired and busy. I have a few I’ve been working on in the midst of my painting endeavors. I can also now share tips on repainting cabinets and choosing paint colors (all stolen information from the marvelous Internet). For now, it’s time to clean up our apartment, listen to some podcasts, and chase around this boy who loves to pull up on everything. 

 

Linking up with Leigh Kramer for What I’m Into.

What do you think?

