What I’m Into (June 2014)

Happy Independence Day to the American readers!

June flew by, and I’m totally in denial that it is July. Our crepe myrtle trees are blooming beautifully, and our almost-one-year-old is taking steps on his own. One year ago today, I was in labor (though Liam wouldn’t be born until July 5). Would it be weird to go back to the hospital room and take a family picture to commemorate the day/time/place we met our son? I thought so.

1-IMG_5670

In between contractions on this day a year ago

This month we christened our house (in a sense) by having our first big event–a Sunday brunch to celebrate our son’s baptism and birthday. It was wonderful, though I had to keep reminding myself, “It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful” and not focus on the half-painted trim, missing outlet covers, and spider-web covered windows. We also had family staying with us for three nights. Every day now I discover something that makes me think, “Did I really host my first big gathering and neglect to take care of that?!” But for the most part, it was glorious, and we are loving our new home.

6-May 27, 20141

We also took our first trip to the beach. Thankfully, Liam didn’t hate the sand or ocean, but he was definitely tentative. Before we left, I mentally prepared myself that the beach would be a different experience with a baby. And it certainly was. But as with all things made new by a baby, there is much more good and wonderful than difficult.

Liam is also toddling about now. He’s very good with his YBike Pewi (the most portable, maneuverable walker I have ever seen and one of our favorite baby gifts!). He can also take quite a few steps on his own. I love this new stage!

4-Recently Updated9

 Best Reads: The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton: Set in 2011 (with flashbacks to WWII and the 1960s), this book was everything I hoped it would be and more. It was difficult to put down and full of complexity and beauty in the ordinary. Real Food for Mother and Baby by Nina Planck: I attribute my fairly easy pregnancy and delivery in large part to nutrition. Planck provides commonsense eating for during pregnancy and beyond. But I read this book for the information on baby’s first foods, and it encouraged me to continue with giving Liam tastes of whatever we are eating and to further think about the foods we are eating. Kiss Me!: How to Raise Your Children with Love by Carlos Gonzalez: This book presents a fresh approach to parenting and to enjoying parenthood. I enjoyed Gonzalez’s take on children and what it means to love them well. Anne of Green Gables (and some sequels) by Lucy Maud Montgomery: I needed a new Kindle book for middle-of-the-night nursing, so I returned to Anne. I understand how much these books shaped me by rereading them now.

Other Reads: Bel Canto // Parnassus on Wheels // Daring Greatly // Someday, Someday, Maybe 

Current Reads: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry // Delancey: A Man, a Woman, a Restaurant, a Marriage // Taking Charge of Your Fertility

I have a lot of posts almost finished and a new series I’m dreaming up. Feel free to follow me on Pinterest to find out what books I recommend, what recipes we’re trying, and what articles have inspired me.  As always, thanks for reading!

I’m linking up with Leigh Kramer for “What I’m Into.” Head over and find some new blogs you’ll love!

2 thoughts on “What I’m Into (June 2014)

  1. I remember going back to the Anne books and to the Little House on the Prairie books when my girls were tiny. I was more aware then of the love and selflessness shown by so many of the characters. It was fun finding your blog. Thank you for sharing your June.

    • Oh! I can’t wait to reread the Little House books one day, too. That’s a good point about the love and selflessness. With Anne, I’ve been amazed by the difference in how girls acted (and what their concerns were) then vs. now. Thanks for your comment!

What do you think?

